News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

National awards recognize UTHSC teaching excellence

Two faculty members from The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSC) have received national recognition as the best in their fields. Both were honored for their superior teaching ability and dedication to students by professional organizations relating to their specialties.

The American Academy of Family physicians (AAFP) presented Tess Bobo, M.D., clinical assistant professor in the department of family and community medicine, the 2001 Pfizer/Parke-Davis Teacher Development Award. The award promotes interest in the part-time teaching of family medicine after residency. "I want to be a teacher who stimulates students to think and ask questions as they become lifelong learners," Dr. Bobo said. "This award reminds me that family practice teaching is valued and rewarded. It is an encouragement to continue my interest in teaching." Dr. Bobo was selected for her scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and dedication to family medicine.

The Association of Physician Assistant Programs presented Judi Colver, M.S., the 2001 "Outstanding New Faculty" award. Only one faculty member is honored nationwide each year. Colver is a Gulf War veteran with more than 20 years experience in the physician assistant field. The award recognizes her dedication to teaching, administration, scholarship and service. "As a new faculty member, it is particularly heartwarming to be recognized by my peers, especially those who are much more experienced," she said. Colver joined the UTHSC in 1999. The honor is presented to faculty members with no more than two years teaching experience.

Contact: Amanda Gallagher or Aileen Salinas