News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

School of Nursing names 12 to Advisory Council

San Antonio (Jan. 14, 2003) — The School of Nursing at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio recently appointed several community leaders to its Nursing Advisory Council (NAC).

"The theme for our Nursing Advisory Council this year is 'Communicating a Passion,'" said Colleen Keller, Ph.D., interim dean of the School of Nursing. "This will not be difficult for our dedicated members as they joined our Council with strong personal desires to serve as advocates for nurses and nursing education."

The new Council members are Karen Herrmann, Jana Orsinger, Amparo Ortiz, Louise Beldon, Joanie Schwartz, Lewis Thorne, Kristine Arlitt, Martha Avant, Kathleen Dennis, Marilyn Stanton, Jill Oettinger and Carol Owens Stryker. Earline Lagueruela is the chair.

Established in 1983, the purpose of the NAC is to promote a greater understanding of nursing education, practice and research through communication with the public and members of the Legislature. The NAC is essential in obtaining support and resources for vital School of Nursing projects including student scholarships, state-of-the-art equipment purchases and endowed professorships.

The NAC consists of 30 members who are leaders in San Antonio and South Texas with a vested interest in the community, health care in general, and nursing in particular. One of the ways the NAC does this is through a public Health Promotion Seminar Series initiated in 1998. Sponsorships from the seminars allowed the NAC to endow and present its first Nursing Advisory Council Scholarship in 2002.

Contact: Will Sansom or Natalie Gutierrez