News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Nine appointed to Nursing Advisory Council (12-7-99)

Nine civic leaders—Rosemary Breedlove, Jean Carlyle, Bonnie Bauer Gaskill, Kay Mary Harrell, Leslie Kingman, Rosemary Kowalski, Cindy Leon, Ed Riojas Jr. and Sherrill Rubin—have been appointed to the School of Nursing Advisory Council at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Janet D. Allan, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, dean of the School of Nursing, announced the appointments. The Nursing Advisory Council, which consists of 30 leaders from health care, business, military, legal, civic and other backgrounds, provides an important link between the School of Nursing and the South Texas communities it serves. The council relates the mission and purposes of the school to the communities and helps the school seek resources to fund important projects.

Breedlove is a Certified Family Nurse Practitioner and civic leader in Los Fresnos, near Brownsville in the Lower Rio Grande Valley. Carlyle is the chief financial officer of Severance & Associates in San Antonio. Gaskill is administrative director of the Hartman Surgical Pavilion and J. Kent Trinkle Center for Transplant Sciences at University Hospital. Harrell is manager of regulatory affairs for DPT Laboratories.

Kingman is active in the Bexar County Medical Alliance, the Junior League and the Alamo Heights Independent School District. Kowalski, a noted caterer, founded the RK Group. Leon is director of U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development operations in San Antonio, a captain in the U.S. Navy Reserves and a member of the International Women’s Forum. Riojas is vice president for corporate relations at the San Antonio Federal Credit Union. Rubin, a registered nurse, is a lawyer and partner in General Health Law Practice, The Rubin Law Firm.

Phyllis Siegel, president of Biomedical Development Corp., is the current president of the Nursing Advisory Council.

The School of Nursing is the largest nursing school in The University of Texas System. It offers undergraduate, master’s and doctoral degree programs. The school is recognized for its innovative research, distance learning initiatives in the South Texas/Border Region and specialized efforts to train nurse practitioners.

Contact: Will Sansom