News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

13 faculty included in 2003 'Faces of the Medical Community'

San Antonio (April 7, 2003) — They perform coronary surgery in the youngest of children . . . they find oral medications to curb alcohol dependence . . . they head one of the nation's best dental schools . . . they invented the world's most successful medical device . . . they coordinate initiatives for public health preparedness . . . and more. These are among the outstanding accomplishments of 13 faculty members at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio who will be honored Wednesday, April 9, during the 2003 "Faces of the Medical Community" reception and gala in downtown San Antonio.

Overall, 25 health care dignitaries will be honored in a photographic and video tribute called Faces of the Medical Community. The program, which begins with a reception at 6:30 p.m. at the Adam's Mark Hotel, will benefit Any Baby Can. Call 227-0170 for more information.

The Health Science Center honorees are Drs. John H. Calhoon, Charles A. Coltman Jr. (also of the Cancer Therapy & Research Center), Bankole A. Johnson, Chris P. Johnson, Kenneth L. Kalkwarf, John A. Mangos, Thomas C. Mayes, Mary Pat Moyer, Julio C. Palmaz, Rajam S. Ramamurthy, Harold L. Timboe, Steven A. Wartman and Kaye E. Wilkins. The other 2003 honorees from the community are Sen. Leticia Van De Putte, John Feik, Bobby Livingston and John Hornbeak, and Drs. Don Anderson, Ann Bass, Paul K. Carlton Jr., Antonio Cavazos Jr., Ernesto Gomez, Frederick Hausheer, Rick Wayne and Dale Wood.

See below for paragraphs about each Health Science Center honoree.

UT Health Science Center honorees included in 2003 "Faces of the Medical Community"

  • John H. Calhoon, M.D., is professor of surgery and head of thoracic surgery at the Health Science Center. He performed the first neonatal heart transplant in Texas and the first neonatal Ross procedure in the world, and recently conceived and performed the first tracheal relocation in the world. He was educated at UT Austin, Baylor College of Medicine, the Health Science Center and Harvard.
  • Charles A. Coltman, Jr., M.D., is president and CEO of the Cancer Therapy & Research Center (CTRC) and professor of medicine at the Health Science Center. He also is chairman of the Southwest Oncology Group (SWOG) and director of the San Antonio Cancer Institute, a partnership of the Health Science Center and the CTRC. As SWOG chair, he directs a network of 4,000 investigators at 375 institutions.
  • Bankole A. Johnson, M.D., Ph.D., is the Wurzbach Distinguished Professor in the departments of psychiatry and pharmacology and serves as director of the Health Science Center's South Texas Addiction Research and Technology (START) Center. His important contributions in addiction research include the development of a new serotonergic medication, ondansetron, to treat biological alcoholics.
  • Chris P. Johnson, M.Ed., M.D., is the founder of CAMP (the Children's Association for Maximum Potential) and serves as clinical professor of pediatrics at the Health Science Center. CAMP is a non-profit corporation established in 1979 to provide a wide range of recreational, rehabilitative, educational and respite services for children with developmental disabilities and their families.
  • Kenneth L. Kalkwarf, D.D.S., is dean of the award-winning Dental School at the Health Science Center. Dr. Kalkwarf's leadership has played an important role in the Dental School's research excellence since his appointment in 1988. The school operates an active outpatient clinic within the Health Science Center, and provides millions of dollars of discounted and uncompensated dental care through partnerships in the region. Dr. Kalkwarf has served on a broad array of regional and national committees and task forces.
  • John A. Mangos, M.D., held faculty positions at three universities before his appointment as professor and chairman of the Health Science Center's pediatrics department in 1982. He served until 1997, when he was named the Eloise Alexander Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Pulmonology. His research has included the search for the basic defect of cystic fibrosis and studies of therapy for pediatric pulmonary diseases. With the Sisters of Divine Providence, he founded the Providence Home for Infants with HIV/AIDS.
  • Thomas C. Mayes, M.D., M.B.A., is associate dean of clinical affairs in the School of Medicine and professor and interim chairman of the department of pediatrics at the Health Science Center. After completing military service in 1994, he joined the faculty to lead the development of pediatric critical care medicine in San Antonio, including creation of a training program and growth of key clinical programs.
  • Mary Pat Moyer, Ph.D., is chief executive officer of INCELL Corp. and clinical professor in the department of surgery at the Health Science Center. As head of one of San Antonio's biotechnology companies, she is the inventor of a new oral vaccine for smallpox.
  • Julio C. Palmaz, M.D., is the inventor of the Palmaz Stent, one of the world's most successful medical devices. IP Worldwide magazine recently named it among the "10 Patents That Changed the World." Millions of patients worldwide have benefited from the Palmaz Stent, which was the first commercially successful coronary stent. Dr. Palmaz is professor of radiology and a Presidential Distinguished Scholar at the Health Science Center, where the stent was developed.
  • Rajam S. Ramamurthy, M.D., a neonatologist, is professor of pediatrics at the Health Science Center and medical director of the Premature Infant Development Program. A leader in the medical community, she is the first woman elected to the presidency of the Bexar County Medical Society and will serve in 2004.
  • Harold L. Timboe, M.D., M.P.H., a family physician and West Point graduate, is the founding director of the Center for Public Health Preparedness and Biomedical Research (CPHPBR) at the Health Science Center. Former commander of Brooke Army Medical Center and Walter Reed Army Medical Center, he commanded Walter Reed at the time it received casualties from the September 11 attack on the Pentagon.
  • Steven A. Wartman, M.D., Ph.D., is executive vice president for academic and health affairs and dean of the School of Medicine at the Health Science Center. A medical sociologist and internal medicine physician, he previously was at Brown, the University of Miami and Albert Einstein College of Medicine.
  • Kaye E. Wilkins, M.D., is a pediatric orthopaedic surgeon at the Health Science Center and Christus Santa Rosa. Among his many accomplishments, he established outreach clinics in South Texas and initiated a program in Mexico for children, edited three editions of the text Fractures in Children and taught residents.

Contact: Will Sansom