News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Prestigious award presented to molecular scientist (10/17/97)

Sumathi Mohan, PhD, graduate assistant at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, is one of the few scientists in the United States to be presented the $l,000 Hugh Lofland Award. Dr. Mohan was honored at the 29th annual Hugh Lofland Conference, held recently at the Imin International Conference Center, University of Hawaii. This prestigious scientific award, bestowed for the best poster presentation, is sponsored by the University of Chicago.

Dr. Mohan, who works with Eugene Sprague, PhD, associate professor in the department of radiology at the Health Science Center, was given the award for her work on the molecular mechanisms involved in atherosclerosis, the No. 1 cause of death in the nation.

"I am impressed by her knowledge and most importantly by her careful, logical, and thorough approach to research," says Dr. Sprague.

Prior to doing research with Dr. Sprague, Dr. Mohan worked as research instructor under Keith Krolick, PhD, professor in the department of microbiology at the Health Science Center, where she reported a distinctive research finding in the neuromuscular disease myasthenia gravis. While working with Dr. Krolick, Dr. Mohan discovered a crossreactivity between the body's most abundant protein, myosin, found in muscles, and a chemical compound, acetylcholine--an receptor, which plays a major role in the transmission of nerve impulses.

Dr. Mohan, whose current research is being done under a National Research Service Award (NRSA) training grant, was recently awarded a two-year National Institutes of Health (NIH) NRSA individual fellowship.

Contact: Jan Elkins (210) 567-2570