News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Howe wins P.D. Straw Patriot of the Year (10/22/97)

John P. Howe III, MD, president of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, has won the prestigious P.D. Straw Patriot of the Year Award from the 5,000-member Alamo Chapter of the Air Force Association (AFA).

The award will be presented Oct. 23 during the annual Berkant Civilian Awards Banquet at Lackland Air Force Base's Gateway Consolidated Club.

Says chapter executive vice president Kaye Biggar, "Each year the San Antonio AFA chapter gives the award, its highest honor, to somone in the community who has demonstrated commitment to the Air Force and recognizes the importance of the military to the security of the nation and its allies and the relevance of overall American military strength to global peace.

"This year, in honor of the 50th anniversary of the U.S. Air Force and the 25th anniversary of the UT Health Science Center, we are honoring Dr. Howe for his tremendous work with the air force and the army to further cooperative regional trauma care, graduate education and other important community partnerships."

The award was originally named for former San Antonio mayor Walter McAllister, then changed in recent years to honor the late P.D. Straw of San Antonio, a two-star general in the air force, World War II hero and former senior vice president of Broadway Bank.

The Air Force Association includes 170,000 members worldwide. The Alamo Chapter, led by president Ed Kirkham, is the largest AFA chapter in the world.

Contact: Mike Lawrence (210) 567-2570