News release

News Release Archive

Office of External Affairs

Mission magazine

Vital Signs

University page

Family physicians at UTHSC recognized for involvement

Physicians at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio earned praise for their leadership in the state’s largest medical specialty organization, the Texas Academy of Family Physicians (TAFP).

For his service as TAFP president, Lloyd Van Winkle, M.D., clinical adjunct professor of family and community medicine, was honored in August at the TAFP 52nd Annual Session and Scientific Assembly, which marked the end of his term. While president, Dr. Van Winkle led TAFP to tackle issues on patient privacy, telemedicine, e-health, Medicaid, managed care, and various legal and legislative medical concerns.

Dr. Van Winkle also has served TAFP as vice president, parliamentarian and chair of the public relations committee, and he has worked on the American Academy of Family Physicians’ commission on communications. This fall he will become one of TAFP’s delegates to the American Academy of Family Physicians Congress of Delegates.

F. David Schneider, M.D., residency program director of family and community medicine, was re-elected as TAFP treasurer at the academy’s annual session. As a member of TAFP’s executive committee, he will meet with state legislators and testify before legislative hearings advocating for family doctors and the patients they serve. Dr. Schneider also serves on the American Academy of Family Physicians Commission on Public Health, and he is active in the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.

TAFP promotes and assures the maintenance of high-quality health care. It has more than 5,000 members and 32 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. TAFP provides its members with a unified voice for family medicine and continues to be one of the most patient-oriented public health groups in Texas.

Contact: Aileen Salinas