Four faculty members receive national recognition

Posted: Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Joel Baseman, Ph.D., will be inducted into the Fellowship of the American Academy of Microbiology on June 19.clear graphic
Joel Baseman, Ph.D., will be inducted into the Fellowship of the American Academy of Microbiology on June 19. 

Email Printer Friendly Format

By Rosanne Fohn

Joel Baseman, Ph.D., professor and chair of microbiology in the School of Medicine, will be inducted into the Fellowship of the American Academy of Microbiology on June 19 at the 112th American Society for Microbiology General Meeting in San Francisco.

He is just one of four faculty members from The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio who recently have received national recognition. Others include:

  • David Cochran, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Periodontics in the Dental School, who has been elected president of the Academy of Osseointegration (AO);
  • Marsha C. Kinney, M.D., professor and director of the Division of Hematopathology in the Department of Pathology in the School of Medicine, who is serving as president of the Society of Hematopathology; and
  • Paula Shireman, M.D., of UT Medicine San Antonio, who has been appointed to serve on the American Heart Association’s (AHA) National Research Committee.
Dr. Baseman’s honor
Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, such as Dr. Baseman, are honored for career contributions to the field of microbiology. They are eminent leaders and are relied upon for authoritative advice and information on critical issues in microbiology. The honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology recognizes excellence, originality and creativity in the microbiological sciences.

Dr. Baseman’s career has focused on the field of bacterial pathogenesis. Among his and colleagues’ contributions is the discovery of the toxin produced by a common respiratory bacterial pathogen, Mycoplasma pneumoniae. The toxin’s presence in humans could be causing as many as 40 percent of all asthma cases.

Dr. Cochran to lead AO
Dr. Cochran is the new president of the world’s leading dental implant organization. Founded in 1987, the AO is comprised of more than 6,000 professionals in nearly 70 countries.

The AO provides a focus for the rapidly advancing biotechnology involving the natural bond between bone and certain alloplastic reconstructive materials. The academy’s primary focus is to advance the field of osseointegrated implants by fostering collaboration between representatives of different dental disciplines — oral surgery, periodontics, prosthodontics and general practice — through clinical and evidence-based research and education

Dr. Cochran also is a member of the academy’s 2012 Program Committee and co-chaired the 2006 State of the Science on Implant Dentistry Workshop. He also has served as treasurer and director, and was program chair for the 2001 annual meeting in Toronto, Canada.

He is a member of many professional dental organizations and served as past president of the American Academy of Periodontology. He is a fellow of the American College of Dentists and the International College of Dentists.

Marsha C. Kinney, M.D., is serving a two-year term as  president of the Society of Hematopathology.clear graphic
Marsha C. Kinney, M.D., is serving a two-year term as president of the Society of Hematopathology. 


Dr. Kinney to lead Society of Hematopathology
Dr. Kinney will serve a two-year term as president of the 700-member Society for Hematopathology. The society is open to physicians and scientists whose work focuses on research and treatment of blood diseases and disorders.

Her duties will include serving as chair of the Executive Committee, appointing chairs and members of the committees, organizing programs and selection of papers for the annual meetings.

At the Health Science Center, Dr. Kinney focuses on teaching a number of hematology courses, supervising students and residents in the hematology program and conducting research. Her expertise includes anaplastic large cell lymphoma; cutaneous hematopoietic and lymphoid neoplasms; extranodal T- and NK-cell lymphoma; and hematopathology.

Dr. Shireman on American Heart Association's National Research Committee
Dr. Shireman, who has been appointed to serve on the AHA’s National Research Committee, is a vascular surgeon who sees patients through UT Medicine San Antonio, the faculty practice of the School of Medicine.

She also is serves as a professor of vascular surgery in the Department of Surgery and vice dean for research in the School of Medicine, where she has received numerous research grants from the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the American Heart Association and others.

Dr. Shireman studies inflammatory-mediated mechanisms of angiogenesis and skeletal muscle generation in her lab.

She has served as chair of regional affiliate of the AHA Research Advisory Committee as well as on its board of directors.

HOME [HSC NEWS] | About UTHSCSA | News Releases | Mission Magazine | Grand Rounds Newly Granted | Submit News | HSC News Archive | Video Index
Photo Archive Library News | Update(Student Newsletter) | RAHC