UT Medicine physicians among Best Doctors in America®

Posted: Wednesday, January 11, 2012

The Medical Arts & Research Center is the primary location for UT Medicine San Antonio, the clinical practice of the School of Medicine of the UT Health Science Center San Antonio.clear graphic
The Medical Arts & Research Center is the primary location for UT Medicine San Antonio, the clinical practice of the School of Medicine of the UT Health Science Center San Antonio. 

Email Printer Friendly Format

Contact: Will Sansom, 210-567-2579

SAN ANTONIO (Jan. 9, 2012) — More than 150 physicians of UT Medicine San Antonio are 2012-13 selections for Best Doctors in America®, a database of the nation’s top physicians. UT Medicine is the clinical practice of the School of Medicine at the UT Health Science Center San Antonio.

The UT Medicine San Antonio Best Doctors are listed with other San Antonio honorees in the January edition of San Antonio Magazine. UT Medicine San Antonio’s flagship practice site is the Medical Arts & Research Center (MARC), located in the South Texas Medical Center. Some faculty physicians on the list also treat patients at the Cancer Therapy & Research Center, the National Cancer Institute-designated Cancer Center that is part of UT Medicine San Antonio. Others provide care at clinical partners of the School of Medicine, including the University Health System, CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Health System and South Texas Veterans Health Care System.

“Congratulations to each physician on this list for attaining excellence in academic clinical practice,” said Francisco González-Scarano, M.D., dean of the School of Medicine and vice president for medical affairs of the Health Science Center. “These Best Doctors honorees, and all of our physicians, exemplify the commitment of UT Medicine San Antonio to our patients and communities.”

Inclusion in Best Doctors is based on an exhaustive peer review and additional qualification criteria. The 2012-13 Best Doctors selections from UT Medicine San Antonio are:

J. Jeffrey Andrews, Rosemary Hickey, Scott Kercheville, Somayaji Ramamurthy, John Richardson and A. Scott Wheeler

Cardiovascular Disease
Steven Bailey, John Erikson, Marc Feldman, L. David Hillis, Richard Lange and David McCall

Clinical Pharmacology
Alexander Shepherd

Critical Care Medicine
Stephanie Levine (also recognized in Pulmonary Medicine), Jay Peters (also recognized in Pulmonary Medicine) and Ronald Stewart (also recognized in Surgery)

Eric Kraus

Endocrinology & Metabolism
Jan Bruder, Charles Reasner

Family Medicine
M. Rosina Finley (also recognized in Geriatric Medicine and Hospice and Palliative Medicine), Marijan Gillard, Linda Ivy, Carlos Jaén, K. Ashok Kumar, W. Ross Lawler, Alexandra Loffredo, Margaret Mann-Zeballos, Cordelia Moscrip, Mark Nadeau, S. Liliana Oakes and Richard Usatine

Glenn Gross (also recognized in Hepatology)

Geriatric Medicine
Laura Chiodo, David Espino, M. Rosina Finley, Michael Lichtenstein and Robert Parker

Glenn Gross and Kermit Speeg

Infectious Diseases
Ruth Berggren, Jan Patterson and Thomas Patterson

Internal Medicine
Fred Campbell, Andrew Diehl, Barbara Fishman, Kristy Kosub, Jane O’Rorke and Henry Perkins

Medical Oncology & Hematology
David Boldt and Cesar Freytes

Claudia Hura

Neurological Surgery
Viktor Bartanusz

Robin Brey, John Carter, Jose Cavazos, Robert Hart, Carlayne Jackson, Michael Merren and Charles Akos Szabo

Nuclear Medicine
Ralph Blumhardt, Darlene Metter (also recognized in Radiology) and William Phillips

Obstetrics & Gynecology
Robert Brzyski, Deborah Conway, Donald Dudley, Kevin Hall and Robert Schenken

Orthopaedic Surgery
Animesh Agarwal, Fred Corley (also recognized in Hand Surgery), Jesse Delee, Anil Dutta, Bernard Morrey, John Toohey, Lorence Trick, Ronald Williams (also recognized in Surgical Oncology) and Michael Wirth

Robert Dobie, K. Christopher McMains, Frank Miller, Randal Otto and C. Blake Simpson

Marsha Kinney and Philip Valente

Pediatric Cardiac Surgery
John Calhoon (also recognized in Thoracic Surgery) and S. Adil Husain

Pediatric Cardiology
David Bush, Patrick Glasow, Kirk Milhoan, Steven Neish and James H. Rogers

Pediatric Critical Care
Jon Courand, Thomas Mayes, Minnette Son and Richard Taylor

Pediatric Endocrinology
Daniel Hale and Jane Lynch

Pediatric Gastroenterology
Naveen Mittal

Pediatric Hematology-Oncology
Anne-Marie Langevin, Paul Thomas and Gail Tomlinson

Pediatric Infectious Disease
Terence Doran

Pediatric Neurological Surgery
David Jimenez

Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery
Earl Stanley

Pediatric Pulmonology
Donna Beth Willey-Courand

Pediatric Specialist/Abused Children
Nancy Kellogg and James Lukefahr

Pediatric Specialist/Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Patrick Holden (also recognized in Psychiatry), Rene Olvera and Steven Pliszka (also recognized in Psychiatry)

Pediatric Specialist/Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Cynthia Blanco, Alice Gong, Donald McCurnin, Michael Odom, Jean Petershack, Rajam Ramamurthy, Steven Seidner and Margarita Vasquez

Pamela Wood

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Donald Currie, Daniel Dumitru, Mark Fredrickson, John King and Nicolas Walsh

Charles Bowden, Jeffrey Cordes, Pedro Delgado, Patrick Holden, Cervando Martinez, Alexander Miller, Steven Pliszka, Rosario Rodriguez, Donald Royall, Jason Schillerstrom, Vivek Singh and Peter Thompson

Pulmonary Medicine
Luis Angel, Antonio Anzueto, Stephanie Levine and Jay Peters

Radiation Oncology
Chul Ha

Carlos Bazan, Jorge Lopera, Rebecca Loredo-Hernandez, Michael McCarthy, Darlene Metter, Pamela Otto, Srinivasa Prasad and Adam Ratner

Stephen Cohn, Glenn Halff, John Myers, Boyce Oliver (also recognized in Surgical Oncology), Wayne Schwesinger, Kenneth Sirinek, Ronald Stewart and W. Kenneth Washburn

Surgical Oncology
Boyce Oliver and Ronald Williams

Thoracic Surgery
John Calhoon, Scott Johnson and Edward Sako

Ian Thompson

# #

UT Medicine San Antonio is the clinical practice of the School of Medicine at the UT Health Science Center San Antonio. With more than 700 doctors ― all faculty from the School of Medicine ― UT Medicine San Antonio is the largest medical practice in Central and South Texas, with expertise in more than 60 different branches of medicine. Primary care doctors and specialists see patients in private practice at UT Medicine San Antonio’s clinical home, the Medical Arts & Research Center (MARC), located in the South Texas Medical Center at 8300 Floyd Curl Drive, San Antonio 78229. Most major health plans are accepted, and there are clinics and physicians at several local and regional hospitals, including CHRISTUS Santa Rosa, University Hospital and Baptist Medical Center. Call 210-450-9000 to schedule an appointment, or visit www.UTMedicine.org for a complete listing of clinics and phone numbers.

HOME [HSC NEWS] | About UTHSCSA | News Releases | Mission Magazine | Grand Rounds Newly Granted | Submit News | HSC News Archive | Video Index
Photo Archive Library News | Update(Student Newsletter) | RAHC