Department of Ophthalmology

Professional Continuing Education

Continuing Education - CME Credits

As part of the mandate from the University of Texas, the UTHSCSA doctors and researchers provide continuing education for South Texas physicians, optometrists and technicians.


Ophthalmology Grand Rounds

  • WHEN.........................Every Friday
  • LOCATION...................Medical School Lecture Room 209L
  • TIME............................8:00 AM to 9:00 AM
  • CONTACT PERSON.......Debbie Schifanella, (210) 567-8406

Ophthalmologists –  The UT Health Science Center San Antonio School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. 


The UT Health Science Center San Antonio School of Medicine designates this educational activity for a maximum of 1.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™.  Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.


Optometrists - Earn one (1) Credit Hour.

Grand Rounds lectures require two (2) clock hours of lecture for one (1) Diagnostic/Therapeutic hour of credit. January 1 through December 31, 2004 only four (4) D/T hours can be used and is approved for credit toward Texas Licensure. The four (4) D/T hours would require a total of eight (8) Grand Rounds clock hours. The American Optometric Recognition Award Program credits one (1) hour for each clock hour of Grand Rounds.


San Antonio Society of Ophthalmology (SASO)

SASO meetings are held every other month (but not in June, July or August). Location varies. These meetings are open to local ophthalmologists as well for a fee.


For more information contact: Debbie Schifanella (210) 567-8406 / E-mail