Department of Cellular and Structural Biology

Edward G. Rennels Distinguished Lecture Series


Edward G. Rennels
May 7, 1920 - January 31, 2010
Tribute to Edward G. Rennels


In 1966, the University of Texas opened a new medical school in San Antonio, Texas. Edward G. Rennels was selected as the founding Chair of the nascent Department of Anatomy. Over the next 14 years, he recruited faculty who shared his vision to build a department committed to excellence in scholarly achievement, graduate education and teaching. In 1980, he resigned as Chair and in 1982, was named Professor Emeritus upon retiring from the University.


The Edward G. Rennels Distinguished Lecture Series was established in 2011 in honor of our Founding Chair, Edward G. Rennels.
Prior Distinguished Lecture Series