Department of Cell Systems & Anatomy

CSA Faculty


Linda Y. Johnson, Ph.D.



University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1978


MED 2.029V
(210) 567-3836


Dr. Johnson is the course director of Medical Gross Anatomy and Embryology, a 185 contact hour dissection course which over 225 medical and graduate students take yearly. She additionally supervises senior medical student electives in Advanced Anatomy covering major regions of the body. Dr. Johnson lectures and supervises laboratories in Medical Neuroscience. During the past decade, she was the course director of the UTHSCSA Basic Science Review Course preparing sophomore medical students for the USMLE Step 1 Exam. Dr. Johnson is also the departmental Committee on Graduate Studies liaison for the Masters in Anatomy program. Dr. Johnson was named a Minnie Stevens Piper Professor as one of the state's top educators in 1995. She was the first UTHSCSA faculty member to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching three times (1985, 1994 and 2004).


Dr. Johnson has served for over 15 years on committees of the National Board of Medical Examiners and chaired the Gross Anatomy Committee of the NBME for two years. In 2005, Dr. Johnson was selected as one of 12 founding members of the UT Academy of Health Science Education, and in 2007 she received the title of Distinguished Teaching Professor. This honor recognizes faculty members with outstanding and sustained contributions to education in the University of Texas System.

My main interests lie in the field of medical education: curriculum development and integration with clinical science, the integration of educational software into course curricula, examination development and curriculum evaluation. I was actively involved in the development of the current integrated medical school curriculum (initiated in 1998) which emphasizes clinical application and experience throughout the years of basic science education. I have served on the National Board of Medical Examiners (responsible for the production of the United States Medical Licensure Exam) since 1993, and play an active role in faculty education development at UTHSCSA.
Johnson L.Y. (2001) Women in Medicine: Observing Two Decades of Change.
San Antonio Medicine, September.


Vaughan M. K., Johnson L. Y., Richardson B. A., Brieno E. G., Reiter R. J. (1984) Acute injections of thyrotropin-releasing hormone (TRH) stimulate prolactin release in unanesthesized male Syrian hamsters. Neuroendocr. Letters 6:49-52.


Blask DE, Vaughan MK, Champney TH, Johnson LY, Vaughan GM, Becker RA, Reiter RJ. (1984) Opioid and dopamine involvement in prolactin release induced by arginine vasotocin and vasopressin in the male rat. Neuroendocrinology. 1984 Jan;38(1):56-61.


Johnson LY, Vaughan MK, Richardson BA, Petterborg LJ, Reiter RJ. (1982) Variation in pineal melatonin content during the estrous cycle of the rat. Proc Soc Exp Biol Med. 1982 Mar;169(3):416-9.


Johnson L. Y. (1982) The pineal gland as a modulator of the adrenal and thyroid axes, In: The Pineal Gland: Vol. III, Extra-reproductive Effects, R. J. Reiter, ed., CRC Press, Inc., Boca Raton, pp. 107-152.