Department of Cell Systems & Anatomy

CSA In The News 2006


November, 2006

    Melatonin expert ranks among world's most-cited scientists (11/30/06)
    Congratulations to Russel J. Reiter, Ph.D.!


    (11/6/06) CSB Faculty Meeting with Drs. Olson and Barnes regarding the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program. Drs. Olson and Barnes will be meeting with CSB faculty to discuss the new interdisciplinary graduate program on:

    Tuesday, November 7th,
    2:00pm - 3:30pm
    Room 209L conference room

    For those faculty located at SBC TX Research Park this meeting will be videoconferenced in
    SBC room 1.120


October, 2006


September, 2006

    CSB Department is Ranked 8 in NIH Awards for Anatomy/Cell Biology Departments in FY 2005! NIH Award Ranking of Medical Schools Departments excel spreadsheet. (9/26/06)


    CSB Faculty, Staff, and Students,

      Thanks to everyone that participated in the CSB retreat on Saturday, but especially to Dr. Robin Leach and Anne Stevens for their hard work. It was a wonderful venue.

      I also extend my appreciation to the faculty that presented, the postdoctoral fellows that shared their research with us and all the graduate students that presented posters.


      Christi A. Walter, Ph.D.
      Professor & Interim Chair


      Congratulations to the award winners and their mentors!
      • Top Poster Awards: Nikita Ruparel(mentor Dr. Hargreaves) and Robert Nichols (mentor Dr. Sun)
      • Guarino nominees: Michael Wetzel (M.S.; mentor Dr. Dong) and Sapna Vijayakumar (Ph.D.; mentor Dr. Naylor). Michael received the M.S. award from the Graduate School at convocation
      • Carrillo award: Stephanie Zimmer
      • Barbara Bowman Graduate Student Award: Sapna Vijayakumar, Ph.D.


    Faculty members receive promotions, tenure. (view story: 9/5/06)

    • John R. Strong, Ph.D., to professor with tenure (T). Cross Appointed Faculty - Pharmacology
    • Michael A. Escamilla, M.D., to professor with tenure (T). Cross Appointed Faculty - Psychiatry


August, 2006

    Michael Wetzel - Recipient of the Guarino Award for Academic Excellence in Master of Science Studies. Congratulations to Michael Wetzel and his mentor, Dr. Lily Dong. (8/23/06)


    Dr. Veronica Contreras-Shannon - Recipient of the Barbara H. Bowman Scholarship Award.
    Congratulations to Dr. Veronica Contreras-Shannon and her mentor Dr. Robin Leach. Dr. Contreras-Shannon is a recipient of the Barbara H. Bowman Scholarship award. (8/23/06)


June, 2006


May, 2006


April, 2006



CSA News: 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006