Vice President for Research

Chemical Safety Committee

Membership Category Department

Terms expire August 31, 2014:
**Block, Karen Medical/Clinical Medicine – Renal Diseases
Noujeim, Marcel Dental Comprehensive Dentistry
Sparkman, Mark K Medical/Basic Science Emergency Medicine

Terms expire August 31, 2015:
Nemetz, Nicole Vet LAR Lab Animal Resources
Sharma, Ramaswamy Medical/Basic Science Cellular & Structural Biology
*Wampler, David Health Professions Emergency Health Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2016:
Kolaparthi, VenkataSubbaRao Medical/Clinical Medicine – Hematology/Oncology
Nayyar, Namrata Dental Comprehensive Dentistry
Olson, Christina Nursing Health Rest & Care System Mgt.

Ex Officio (non-voting)
Charlton, Michael A. Assistant Vice President Risk Management
Knodel, Leroy C. Director Drug Information Center
Layton, George Medical Director, Designee Poison Control Center
Kazen, James Executive Vice President Facilities Planning and Operations


To serve in an advisory and consultative capacity to the President and the Vice President for Research, and to advise the Environmental Health and Safety Office in matters pertaining to the safe receipt, use, storage, and disposal of hazardous chemicals; evaluate indoor environmental quality issues; review safety standards involving chemicals prior to promulgation and execution; review plans for chemical safety programs (those required and/or those not required by law or by granting/contracting agency) in order to determine their applicability to the research/training function of the Health Science Center; in matters pertaining to the safe receipt, use, storage, and disposal of hazardous chemicals; and to serve as an avenue of appeal in cases of dispute and exception.

Term of membership: Three years

Additional Information: Committee currently meets the 1st Tuesday of February, May, August, and November. Additional meetings as needed.

* Chair
** Vice Chair