About Us

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio serves San Antonio and the 50,000 square-mile area of South Texas. It extends to campuses in the metropolitan border communities of Laredo and the Rio Grande Valley.

More than 3,000 students a year train in an environment that involves more than 100 affiliated hospitals, clinics and health care facilities in South Texas. Learn more about us:

The university has three extension campuses:
  • The Regional Academic Health Education Centers in Harlingen and Edinburg host biomedical researchers, medical students and residents serving the communities of the Lower Rio Grande Valley.
  • The Regional Campus in Laredo offers classroom space for degree programs in allied health fields, and a variety of special programs in health education.

The UT Health Science Center and its Cancer Therapy & Research Center hold diversity as a core value. In this context, we are mindful of all aspects of human differences, such as socioeconomic status, race, ethnicity, language, nationality, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, geography, disability and age.

At the UT Health Science Center and CTRC, inclusion is a core element for successfully achieving diversity, as we strive to create a climate that fosters belonging, respect and value for all. As an equal employment opportunity and affirmative action employer, the UT Health Science Center and CTRC exercise these core values of diversity and inclusion by promoting and ensuring equal employment opportunity for all individuals without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, sexual orientation, disability, or veteran status. Visit: SOM Faculty and Diversity